West Bengal State Council of Science & Technology has launched a very special programme namely **"The Bengal Science Initiative"**. The purpose of this programme is to promote scientific research and development in Universities/Colleges and also to popularize science throughout the State.

Fellowships (Ph. D Programme):

Faculty members from college and university in the State of West Bengal are eligible for 5 Research fellowships (Rs.2 lacs/per annum for 3 years in the beginning) for persuading Ph.D. under the following categories:

- 1) Jagadish Chandra Bose Fellowship
- 2) Acharya Prafulla Chandra Roy Fellowship
- 3) Meghnad Saha Fellowship
- 4) Satyendra Nath Bose Fellowship
- 5) Upendra Nath Brahmachari Fellowship

Research Grants Awards (For Universities & Colleges Teachers):

Faculty members from college and university in the State of West Bengal are eligible for 2 Research Grant Awards (Rs.5 lacs/per annum for 3 years in the beginning) under the following categories:

- 1) Swami Vivekananda Research Grant for Rural Development.
- 2) Rabindra Nath Tagore Research Grant for promotion of Science Education and Research.